then and now

Visconti - division 4 in Pere-Lachaise then and now

Ennius Quirnus Visconti (1751-1818) and his son Louis Tullien Joachim Visconti (1791-1853). An Italian archeologist, Ennius was curator of the Capitoline Museum in Rome before supervising the antiquities room at the Louvre. He was originally buried in what is now division 10 but removed to division 4 next to his son, architect and designer Louis Tullien. Louis designed many Parisian buildings and squares, including the Place Saint Sulpice, but is perhaps most well-known for designing the tomb of Napoleon at Les Invalides.

1832 in Normand

1840 Marty

Ennius (rear) and Louis (front) Visconti - photograph by Gede

Memorial to the Victims of June 1832 - division 6 in Pere-Lachaise then and now

Erected by the city of Paris, this memorial pays homage to members of the municipal and national guard who perished during the uprising of 20 June 1832.

Their names are listed on the obelisk, largely illegible today, and bodies were interred in the open space in front of memorial:

Pierre Hippolyte Aubert, Francois Michel Bellier, Nicolas Beranger, Jean Cartier, Jacques Louis Leonard Chollet, Charles Joseph Cocquelet, Pierre Condamine, Claude Duc, Henri Fauchier, Joseph Folenfant, Bernard Forest, Pierre Gaultier, Jean Julien Geoffroy, Felix Gilles, Gravet, Pierre Joseph Guenifet, Charles Herera, Jean Francois Hervet, Francois Kolleter, Jean Baptiste Ladroix, Eugene Lavrilliere, Emile Lefort, Louis Victor Lemoine, Jean Lhubert, Jean Louis Lointier, Dominique Morge, Antoine Marquez, Etienne Mathieux, Louis Menard, Jean Moder, Pierre Auguste Mousseau, Francois Munerel, Jean Pargala, Francois Xavier Pernot, Jean Baptiste Honore Prevost, Louis Pussier, Jean Raud, Mathias Reybel, Francois Xavier Sattlair, Dominique Schmitt, Pierre Georges Senegon, Charles Louis Vanherseque, Claude Weber

For more information plus an illustration of the monument circa 1840 see Les Principeaux Monuments Funeraires du Pere-Lachaise, de Montmartre, du Mont-Parnasse et autres Cimetieres de Paris (1840) by Rousseau, Lassalle and Marty.

There seems to be a bit of confusion about this monument. As noted above, Marty et al make it clear it was erected for the victims of 1832, yet more recent sources, particularly in Valverde and Hughes Le Cimetiere du Pere-Lachaise and in Philippe Landru's exhaustive website, the monument supposedly honors those killed in the 1848 uprising. And Bertrand Beyern writes that the monument honors those killed in 1832, 1834, 1835 and 1848.

A very small but nonetheless perplexing puzzle. . .

Charles Henri Ver Huell - division 28 in Pere-Lachaise - then and now

Charles Henri or Carel Hendrik Ver Huell (also Verhuell, 1764-1845) was a Dutch, and later French, admiral and statesman.

Buried with Charles are his brother Christian Antoine (1760-1832) a Dutch admiral, and Charles's two sons: Maurice (1791-1810) and Charles (1797-1827). The monument was erected following the death of Maurice.
1825 by C. P. Arnaud


Beaumarchais and Comte de Ribes - division 28 Pere-Lachaise - then and now

Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais (1732–1799) was a French playwright, watchmaker, inventor, musician, diplomat, fugitive, spy, publisher, horticulturalist, arms dealer, satirist, financier, and revolutionary (both French and American).

It is unclear as to where Beaumarchais was originally buried when he died in 1799. Eventually, however, he was reinterred in division 28, near the Comte de Ribes.
1840 by Marty

2012 by Pierre-Yves Beaudouin

General Maximillien Foy - division 28 Pere-Lachaise - then and now

Maximillien Sébastien Foy (1775–1825) was a French military leader during the Napoleonic Wars and wrote as highly-regarded history of the Peninsular War. Toward the end of his life he was a member of the national Chamber of Deputies and noted for his eloquence.
1828 by Marchant

c. 1830 by Pugin

1832 by Quaglia

1836 by Richard

1840 by Marty
c. 1841 by Furne

by Civeton

1855 by Solomon
by Didier Grau

Marshal Francois Lefebvre - division 28 Pere-Lachaise - then and now

François Joseph Lefebvre (1755-1820), was one of Napoleon's original eighteen Marshals of the Empire. He is buried in division 28 near Andre Massena, another Marshal of the Empire.

1832 Lefebvre (Normand)

1832 Lefebvre (Normand)

1832 Lefebvre (Quaglia)

1840 Lefebvre (Marty)
2009 by Steve Soper

Marshal Andre Massena - division 28 Pere-Lachaise - then and now

Andre Massena (1758-1817 was a French military commander and one of Napoleon's original eighteen Marshals of the Empire. He is buried along with his son-in-law, Honore Charles Reille (1775-1860, Marshal of France, in division 28, near Francois Lefebvre, another Marshal of the Empire.
1855 Massena (Salomon)

1821 Massena (Jolimont)

1832 Massena (Normand)

1832 Massena (Quaglia)

1836 Massena

1840 Massena

late 19th century by Eugene Atget

1896 by Fraigneau
2006 by Steve Soper